24-year old beauty from Laguna crowned Bb.Pilipinas Miss Universe 2013

Twenty-four year old Ariella Arida from Laguna will represent the country to the 2013 Miss Universe pageant in Panama in July after she was named Sunday night Miss Universe Philippines 2013 during the Binibining Pilipinas coronation night at the Araneta Coliseum.

A sportswoman who loves the outdoors, especially the beach, Arida was also judged best in swimsuit in the 50th anniversary of the country’s popular beauty pageant.

Twenty-three year old Bea Rose Santiago from Masbate, meanwhile, was named Bb. Pilipinas-International. She was also chosen Bb. Avon.

Twenty-three year old Joanna Cindy Miranda of Nueva Ecijia was crowned Bb. Pilipinas-Tourism. Miranda was also named Bb. Petron and the winner of the Cream Silk Beyond Beautiful Woman Award.

Twenty year old Mutya Johanna Datul of Isabela was crowned Bb Pilipinas Supranational. She was also named Bb. Photogenic and Best in Evening Gown while Cagayan de Oro’s Pia Wurtzbach, 23, who is a member of ABS-CBN’s Star Magic, was named first runner up.

The pageant kicked off with the past winners of Bb. Pilipinas, led by Miss Universe 1969 Gloria Diaz, taking the stage, in celebration of the Golden anniversary of the country’s premiere beauty pageant.

The pageant was hosted by Martin Nievera and Dawn Zulueta and featured musical performances from Sam Milby, Xian Lim, Sam Concepcion and Matteo Guidicelli.

Several special awards were also given, including Miss Friendship, which went to Lourenz Grace Remetillo; Miss Talent, Anna Carmela Aquino; Best in National Costume, Alaine Baccay; Manila Bulletin Readers Choice Award, Ellore Punzalan; Bb. Pilipinas-PAGCOR, Imelda Schweighart; Bb. Philippine Airlines, Nicole Kim Donesa; and Bb. San Miguel Zero Fit and Sexy Body, Pia Wurtzbach.

Making it to the top 15 were Camille Nazar, 23 from Bulacan; Charmaine Elima,20 from Binangonan, Rizal; Ellore Punzalan, 26, from Las Pinas; Merry Joyce Respicio, 18, from Bulacan; Ma. Angelica De Leon,19 from Batangas; Parul Shah, 24, from Pangasinan; Grace Yann Apuad, 25, from Agusan del Sur; Rhea Nakpil, 23, from San Mateo, Rizal; Imelda Schweighart, 17, from Puerto Princesa City, Palawan; and Amanda Noelle Navasero, 22, from Makati City. (PNA)