159 athletes to represent PHL in 17th Asian Games

A total of 159 athletes and 54 officials from 26 sports disciplines will represent the Philippines in the 17th Asian Games slated Sept. 19 to Oct. 4 in Incheon, South Korea.


Philippine Sports Commission Chairman and Chief of Mission of Philippine Team Ritchie Garcia announced this on Tuesday during the weekly Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) sports forum at the Shakey’s Restaurant in Malate, Manila.


”It would be difficult to determine the strength of the team right now but they are (athletes) well supported in terms of financial and logistics,” Garcia told the sports media.


Garcia said he has instructed the Philippine Center for Sports Medicine (PCSM) to submit reports on the physical conditioning of the Asian Games-bound athletes.


”With this (PCSM’s report), we will know if our athletes are 100 percent ready for the Asian Games,” Garcia said.


Based on the latest entry by numbers, the Philippines will send eight athletes in archery, nine in athletics, 15 in softball, 12 in (men’s) basketball, 12 in bowling, eight in boxing, one in canoe/kayak, four in cycling, three in equestrian, two in fencing, seven in golf, one in gymnastics, two in judo, six in karate, five in rowing, and 12 in rugby.


Four athletes in sailing/windsurfing also have earned tickets to the prestigious Asian quadrennial meet, while there are eight in shooting, three in swimming, 12 in taekwondo, five in tennis, three in soft tennis, four in triathlon, two in weightlifting, five in wrestling and six in wushu.


The country will try to surpass its 17th place performance with three gold, four silver and nine bronze medals in the 16th Asian Games in Guanzhou, China.


In Guanzhou, the PHL gold winners were boxer Rey Saludar, bowler Engelberto Rivera and billiard artist Dennis Orcollo while silver medalists included boxer Annie Albania; billiard artist Warren Kiamco, golfer Miguel Luis Tabuena, chess team Wesley So, Eugene Torre, Darwin Laylo and John Paul Gomez, and Rogelio Antonio Jr.


The bronze winners were Victorio Saludar (boxing); Frederick Ong (bowling); Ronnie Steeve Vergara and Charlea Lagaras (two golds/dance sports); Mark Eddiva (wushu); and Tshomlee Go, John Paul Lizardo, Paul Romero, and Kirstie Elaine Alora (taekwondo). (PNA)